Skip to content Skip to footer


Visionaries Illuminating Education

Founders' Corner

Welcome to the Founders' Corner, where we introduce you to the visionary minds behind Agora University. Meet our esteemed co-founders, as they share their inspiring journey and the driving force behind our university's mission.

Dr. Emmanuel Gergis

Co-founder & President

Rev. Dr. Michael Sorial

Co-founder & Chancellor

Naguib Sawiris

Chairman of Orascom Telecom Media & Technology Holding

Naguib Sawiris

Chairman of Orascom Telecom Media & Technology Holding

Chairman of the Boards

Mr. Naguib Sawiris' role, as our Chairman of the Boards, is pivotal in shaping the University's long-term vision. Learn about his vision and how it supports our core mission.

Empowering Success

Advisory Board

Mr. Alex Shalaby


Mark Morgan, JD

Secretary & Board Member

H.E. Archbishop John Kawak

Board Member

H.G. Bishop Angelos

Board Member

Mr. George Sorial, J.D., M.B.A.

Board Member

Ms. Lana Sawiris

Board Member

Ms. Natalie Ramses

Board Member

Governing Board

Rev. Dr. Michael Sorial, D.Min.
President of the Board 

Dr. Emmanuel Gergis, Ph.D.
Vice President of the Board

Ms. Lydia Dimyan, C.P.A.

Ms. Mary Ann (Mora) Sorial, M.A., M.Ed.

Dr. Michael Wingert, Ph.D.
Board Member

Ms. Monica Ghattas, J.D.
Board Member

Fr. Seraphim ElBaramos, M.Litt.
Board Member

Mr. Ramy Adeeb, M.Sc., M.B.A.
Board Member

Mr. Onsi Sawiris
Board Member

Dr. Robert Felix, Ph.D., C.P.A.
Board Member


Executive Team

Executive Leadership

Rev. Dr. Michael Sorial, D.Min.

Dr. Emmanuel Gergis, Ph.D.
President and CEO

Operations, Compliance, & Accreditation

Ms. Sylvana Selim, M.A., M.Fin.
Chief Operating Officer

Ms. Sandy Agban
Director of Accreditation


Mr. John Saad
Chief Technology Officer

Mr. Jean-Paul Markos
Director of Information Technology

Mr. Andrew Amir
Information Technology Manager


Mr. Pablo Diaz, M.A.
Senior Director of Educational Services

Agora University Press

Dr. Veronica Mikhail, M.Th., D.Min.
Editor in Chief

Mr. Mourad Massoud, M.A.
Managing Director


Ms. Christine Georges, M.B.A.
Senior Director of Admissions

Ms. Monica Mansour
Admissions Manager

Ms. Gina Rofael
Admissions Recruiter

Ms. Mary Youhanna
Admissions Recruiter

Academic Leadership

Dr. Michael Wingert, M.A., M.A.T., Ph.D.
Dean of Holy Transfiguration College

Dr. Mary Ghattas, Ph.D.
Director of Undergraduate Studies


Ms. Norma Joseph
Director of Marketing

Ms. Manuela Maher
Marketing Specialist


Mr. Amir Hanna, M.Sc.
Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Bassem Massoud
Senior Director of Finance

Mr. Bassam George

Community Engagement

Ms. Vero Saad, M.T.S.
Director of Community Engagement

Public Relations

Mr. Avram Ibrahim, M.B.A.
Director of Public Relations

Ms. Veronica Rizk
Public Relations Intern

Human Resources

Ms. Iriny Guirguis
Director of Human Resources

Agora University is registered in the United States with the IRS as a 501(c)(3) organization, Tax-ID number 45-2832530.

Agora University is a religious institution exempt from state regulation and oversight in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Contact Us
Address: 9253 Old Keene Mill Rd, Burke, VA 22015

Fax: +1 (202) 930-7909